Reggie Perkins


Coach Reggie Perkins is a former member of the Harlem Globetrotters. He spent 15 years as a high school basketball coach and former Athletic Director at Washburn High School.

As a Globetrotter, Reggie was able to experience the joy of a sport uniting people across the world. During his time as a coach, he was able to see the role sports can play in changing a student-athlete’s life. In his current position as the Athletic Director, he gets to see how sports can uplift an entire community.

For 25 years, Reggie Perkins has been providing youth sports development programs through basketball camps, clinics and motivational speaking. He is a co-founder of the AAU traveling basketball program for boys grade 4th through 8th, called Minneapolis Select. He is also a co-founder of Super 60 Sports, a sports event company. In addition, he created and coordinated a youth sports program called the Miniature Basketball Association which was designed to introduce youth ages 3-8 to the game of basketball.

Over the course of his coaching career, Reggie has led his teams to seven conference championships, five section finals and four MSHSL State Championship appearances in (Class 3A Champions in 2009, Runner-Up in 2012) and (Class 4A Champions in 2003, 3rd Place in 2002). He was voted Coach of the Year by his peers in the Minneapolis City Conference four times and Section Coach of the Year twice.

Reggie played collegiate basketball and earned his bachelor’s degree in Education at St. Cloud State University(SCSU). As a collegiate player, Reggie helped SCSU win three consecutive North Central Conference(NCC) Championships. Throughout his collegiate career, he earned a #1 national ranking for NCAA Division II, named the NCC MVP twice, and was an All-American. In 2006, he was inducted into the SCSU Athletic Hall of Fame and still holds the record as the all-time leader in steals.

Reggie is an active member of the Minnesota Interscholastic Activities Administrators Association and serves on the Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association Executive Board.